girlontheroaduk

One girl's musings on commuting to the Big Smoke, and beyond.

Day 4 of 30 day writing challenge 

Leave a comment

Day 4: write about someone who inspires you

The world is full of amazing people, and I try to take my inspiration from those amazing people that are closest to me.

I first met the Amazing Janine in 2009 when I got a job working with her. It wasn’t too long before we were going for cream cakes together with one of us using our questionable driving skills to get us there (we may have mounted a curb or two…). Although I no longer see Janine five days a week she is still one of my closest friends and over the years I have seen what a kind, funny, and strong person she is. 

Janine has always been great at her job, she is one of those people who just seems to know everything and can also get stuff done. She also cares about people and would give her own life and soul to the people she loves. Oh, and she bakes the best cupcakes you have ever had!

What most inspires me about Janine though is her incredible strength of character. Just before Christmas Janine’s dad sadly passed away unexpectedly. I can’t imagine what she has been through/is still going through but I know that she is working through her nightmare with amazing inner strength. She has managed to support others through, and every time I see her I can see little glimpses of positivity. I admire that she has thrown herself into exercise as a healthy way to deal with her grief and is also looking great! Plus, she can now lift more than her own body weight which is pretty bad ass!

She is truly an inspiration in my life and has been by my side at my toughest time. Here’s to you Janinio!  

 

Leave a comment